A science talk for a Friday-night in 6.40 minutes

3 Jun

Last Friday I gave a talk at the de Young museum. I had 20 slides and every slide was shown for exactly 20 seconds. I had exactly 6 minutes and 40 seconds to tell a lay audience a story about my work on HIV and drug resistance. I love this kind of challenge!

The format is called Pecha Kucha.

I think I spent around two and a half days to prepare the shortest talk I have ever given. I also recorded the talk so if you are curious, you can have a look.

Probably the best part of having a fixed number of slides and automated transitions between slides was that out of 5 speakers, no one went over the allotted time!

If you’re interested in the full text of the talk, you can download it here: HIVin6minutes.

Me in de Young museum, May 2013, picture by Andreas Gros.

Disclaimer: I am a computational, evolutionary biologist, not a medical doctor. Whenever I say “we” in this presentation, I mean humankind or all scientists and doctors in the world. The numbers in the presentation are all approximate.

4 Responses to “A science talk for a Friday-night in 6.40 minutes”

  1. Becca M. June 4, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    Any chance it was recorded? I’d love to see it!

    • Becca M. June 4, 2013 at 9:51 am #

      just kidding. I found it.

      • pleunipennings June 4, 2013 at 9:59 am #

        🙂 It wasn’t really recorded. But I hope you enjoy the presentation on YouTube. By the way, this was the first time I used the lottery analogy again after we used (in a slightly different way) in our book chapter!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. PechaKucha talk at the de Young museum | Pleuni Pennings - June 5, 2013

    […] a Pecha Kucha talk about HIV drug resistance at the de Young museum. I put a little more info on my blog. Here is the […]

Leave a Reply

