Update on 4.5-hours-workday-experiment

20 Mar

This is the beginning of the third day of my 4.5-hours-workday-experiment.

The goal is to try and work just 4.5 hours a day, so that I have time to recover after every block of work and after every day of work, so that even on Friday afternoon I’ll get some serious work done and have the energy to go to the happy hour.

So how did it go on day 1 and 2?

First of all, I enjoyed these two days. I had time to go to the gym, and to cook, and go out for dinner, and to read a book, and to eat frozen yoghurt with my colleagues! Now each of these things could also happen on one of my normal workdays, but I did more of them than I usually do. Also, I felt that I could take more time for each of the activities. At the gym, for example, I didn’t mind waiting for a machine, because I was not in a hurry to get back to work.

Second, I did get quite a bit of work done. But also that is no exception. I am usually productive on Mondays and Tuesdays. In fact, I am pretty sure that I could have been more productive with more hours of work. But, of course, I am hoping that I will be rewarded by an amazingly productive end of the week!

So is it all good? Well, I am not yet sure about actually sticking to a precise schedule. On a few occasions I felt somewhat stressed by the knowledge that a clock was ticking and I only had 10 minutes left before I was supposed to take a break. I’ll have to see whether I get more used to that during the week.

I’ll tell you more later!

Leave a Reply

